Selection Committee for the Alumni Sponsorship Programme "Humboldt Research Hubs"

The central instrument for conferring Humboldt Research Hubs is an interdisciplinary selection committee.

The members are assigned certain applications, on which they report to the committee. All decisions are discussed and taken jointly by the interdisciplinary committee; the Foundation's Board of Trustees must approve the committee's choices for Humboldt Research Hubs.

The selection committee is composed of:

- 5 voting members:
 - 4 specialist voting committee members (including the chairperson)
 - 1 non-specialist voting committee member: representative of the Federal Foreign Office
- 1 non-specialist, non-voting representative of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
- 1 non-specialist, non-voting representative of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Members:

Chairperson

Professor Dr. Bernhard **Fleischer** Bernhard-Nocht-Institut für Tropenmedizin (BNI), Hamburg

Specialist committee members:

Professor Dr. Rose Marie **Beck** Institut für Afrikastudien, Universität Leipzig

Professor Dr. Anna Christina **Treydte**

Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology, Arusha, Tansania

Professor Dr. Peter Wriggers

Institut für Kontinuumsmechanik, Universität Hannover

Non-specialist voting committee member:

Auswärtiges Amt:

Mr Vito Cecere

Non-specialist, non-voting committee mebers:

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst:

Mr Stefan Bienefeld

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung:

Dr. Enno Aufderheide, Secretary General